Mexico Trip!

For those of you who didn’t know, my husband and I spent 9 days, 8 nights in Cancun and got back late Sunday night. So if it seemed like I was on my computer & phone very little …it is because I was! We went down to celebrate my cousin’s wedding. It was a great time and the weather was AWESOME. The timing was perfect. Milwaukee got it’s winter’s first real cold temperatures & snow and we left for mid 80’s and sun.

I have posted on this before, but I did not leave anyone in charge of the frogs. I fed them a bunch before I left and then let them be. The lights were already off when we got in on Sunday night so I had to wait until Monday night to do a head count. I did check in on the littlest of froglets once I returned as those I was most worried about and I saw 1 of them out.  I fed everyone last night after work and they were all hopping around eating flies so that is good.  I always worry about them when I am gone, even though I know they will be alright.   I did have Steve’s parents stop by to water some plants & they shoveled all the snow so that was pretty good! Thanks guys!

Here’s a photo of my view from the lounge chair!

IMG_0711Here are two of the many animal friends we saw:

IMG_0707

IMG_0725Many lizards running around & bathing in the sun.  We also saw a bunch of Coati on our first bike ride & Steve saw more on the golf course.  Above is a photo that Steve took at the golf course, because I did not have my camera on the bike ride and they were no where in sight when I did!

While in Mexico we did a zip line tour! I didn’t even think to bring my camera, but I really should have! After the zip line tour, we had about 1-1.5 hours of waiting for the rest of our group to finish other activities before we went back as a group. One of the zip line guys decided to take us on a tour of a very small portion of the rainforest that it was held in. The owner of the zip line course was a botanist so he had tons of local orchids, bromeliads, tillandrias that were planted on trees & paths throughout the area we walked in so that he could study them. It was very cool to see all the native plants up close & so well laid out. I was very jealous that they had the perfect climate for all these plants that I can only have in tanks.

I think I have convinced Steve that sometime we should visit Costa Rica and do a walk through a rainforest! Maybe next year for my birthday because the warm weather is much better than the cold and snow that I normally see around my birthday!

Speaking of my birthday, Steve got me a glass container that I have been hinting at for quite awhile. It will be my next real project for the frog room! Stay tuned for more details!IMG_0721Birthday Cake at La Gondola Restaurant with my family

IMG_0716Birthday Drink

IMG_0723Glass Container for my birthday!

Subscribe by email for the latest updates or Join me on facebook and like “The Frog Lady” to get all the latest updates on your newsfeed.

thefroglady

Leave a Reply

