Frogging on a budget (Part 3 of 3)

Sorry for the delayed part 3!  I am sure everyone has been waiting on the edge of their seats 😉  I have gotten pretty busy lately with my full time job, part-time job & our new bathroom renovation project, plus doing my puzzles that I got for Christmas!  My posts should be returning to a more normal schedule now though.

Today I have also announced that I will be participating in the April A to Z Challenge.  My theme will be different tank background materials.  You can read more about it here!

Now that we have our deals on Tanks, Materials & Plants from Part 1, and our substrates, woods, leaf litter & misting supplies from Part 2, we can move onto Lights, bugs, decor & frogs!

Lights

Lights are one thing that I wouldn’t skimp on.  I have seen multiple DIY lighting fixtures, but I wouldn’t recommend these to a beginner.

-Amazon- My first light fixture was the Marineland LED Light fixture.  I love this light and the plants in my tank has loved them as well!

light
MarineLand Light via Amazon

-Home Depot/ Lowes – Shop Light & replace light with a daylight bulb

shop light
Example Shop Light via Amazon

Bugs

– The best place that I have heard of to buy bugs, mainly due to shipping costs, would be at an expo.

springtail_white_background_3
Springtails via Josh’s Frogs

 Decor

 Film Canisters

-Amazon or Ebay – Can buy film canisters in bulk here.

81-2gsmu0ML._SL1500_
Film Canisters Via Amazon

-Walgreens, CVS or Walmart- Some of these places may give them to you if you ask for them.  They no longer need them after they develop the film!

Vines

-Get some rope & cover it in silicone & then dip in coco fiber.

CocoHuts

-Cheapest will probbably be at an expo or anywhere you can get them without paying for shipping.  The average cost for the coco hut is $1.50-$2.50 so the shipping cost will be more than the actual coco hut cost.

-Or you can make them yourself! – Buy an organic coconut from food store (around $1.50).  Drain it & cut it in half & then boil & bake it.  Cut it in half once cooled and drill a hole on top & side for frog access.  This may require some tools!  Children do not attempt this as it can be dangerous!

coconut

Frogs

This is the second thing that I would not buy the cheapest of.  In the case of the actual frogs, you will want to buy from a reputable & knowledgeable breeder.

-There are many breeders out there who are very reputable & will help you out however they can.  I bought my first 2 leucs from Patrick @ Saurian.  He was very knowledgeable and helpful!  I did not mind paying a little more than other places, because when I received the frogs they were exactly as he said they would be.  1″ in size and approximately 4 months old.  They were packaged very well & very active upon arrival.

-Join Dendroboard & some local facebook groups to find some local froggers that may be able to save you the cost of shipping.  I got 2 good deals from local froggers who were looking to sell their frogs & tanks locally!

-Go to an expo to meet some breeders & see lots of options for frogs as well as get some sweet deals!

Josh’s Frogs Facebook Auction Fridays!  Every Friday they have been holding an auction on different frogs & supplies.  Make sure to check the general notes at the beginning for end time, regular cost & rules!

On the bright side, once the tank is set up & the frogs are bought the cost of raising frogs themselves is pretty cheap!

thefroglady
Subscribe by email for the latest updates or Join me on facebook and like “The Frog Lady” to get all the latest updates on your newsfeed.

One thought on “Frogging on a budget (Part 3 of 3)

Leave a Reply

