DIY Terrariums

I received a large glass jar for my birthday from my husband and a couple of nights ago I finally turned it into a terrarium!

Here is my current thumbnail grow-out tank:

IMG_0533

In this tiny container, I have (2) ~4.5 month old R. Imitator Tarapotos.  I have decided that they need a little more room & my current grow-out tank already has 3 frogs in it, so I decided that these large glass jars would be perfect!  These jars will be a good way to give the froglets more space and it can be set out on our coffee table.  By being set out in the living room, these tarapotos will *hopefully* become even more bold frogs.  I find that my tarapotos are pretty bold as it is now, but figure by taking them out of the shaded container and placing them out in the open in a glass container they should become even more bold.

Here is a comparison of what they are in now, versus the new jar.

IMG_0995

Here is a little DIY on how I made my terrarium!

DIY TERRARIUMS

Gather Supplies:

IMG_0997

-thoroughly washed rocks

-driftwood

-screen

-coco fiber

-coco bark

-moss

-springtail culture (Only needed if adding in animals)

Layer Rocks

IMG_0998

I used a bunch of larger rocks first, then layered with smaller rocks over top.  The rocks help to give a little space so the soil won’t get so waterlogged.

Add Soil

IMG_0999

Next I mixed up some coco bark, coco fiber, moss & charcoal from springtail culture.  And put that over the rocks.  You could put screen in between the rocks and the soil but I chose not to, mostly because I completely forgot.

IMG_1001

You could also use some ABG if you have some on hand or if you won’t be putting any animals in it, you could use a high quality potting soil.

Add Plants!

IMG_1004

IMG_1006

IMG_1005

(Don’t judge it is almost Valentine’s day and yes we do still have our stockings up.  We must have forgot to take those down!)

I added the Peperomia & Fittonia that my brother got me for Christmas, along with some creeping fig, Pilea & hardy small leaved philodendron from my plant tank.  Any dwarf plant that likes high humidity plant should work.  You can see what kind of plants I keep in my terrarium here.

Mist & let establish

IMG_1007

I will probably let this tank sit for a week or so to allow the springtails & plants to get some footing prior to putting in my eating & romping machines.  But, the occupants below are getting pretty excited for his new tank so we will see how long until they end up in there anyways.

Future Occupants

IMG_0926 IMG_0927

Couldn’t you see little terrariums all over your house?  That would be an awesome way to bring some plants and frogs into every room.

thefroglady

Subscribe by email for the latest updates or Join me on facebook and like “The Frog Lady” to get all the latest updates on your newsfeed.

17 thoughts on “DIY Terrariums

    1. Yep! I open the lid at least once per day to either mist or feed, which gives them more than enough ventilation. I have left them while on vacation for 10 days and I came home to find them hopping around and climbing all over.

Leave a Reply

