Frog Tanks Photo Shoot

Well this past weekend I spent some time in the frog room cleaning tanks & fruit fly culture cups.  The tanks were getting pretty bad so it was time for a much needed tank cleaning.

Culture Cups:

I will spare everyone the photos of these dirty but I had enough cups to clean that I made a pretty good sized drying tower.  IMG_1089

After each culture is done I place it in the freezer (in multiple layers of plastic bags).  After I collect enough/ need room in my freezer I take them out and dump out anything that will fall out.  Normally with the Saurian mix the media would fall out with a couple of squeezes of the cup, however with the new Repashy mix they were a lot harder to get out.  Once they are pretty well cleaned I fill them with warm soapy water and let them sit.  Then I go back and dump them out and wipe with a paper towel to get any larvae off the sides then rinse in hot water and set aside to air dry.

What is your method for re-using cups?

Leucs Tank:

I didn’t take any before photos of this tank, because I wasn’t really thinking of it.  But here is the after:

IMG_1065I cut out a lot of plants as seen below

IMG_1068 IMG_1070

And I even found this plant ready to bloom.  It was hidden by a bunch of overgrown plants.  Anyone know what this plant is?

IMG_1066

Split Tank:

Here is the before for the split tank.  The right side (tarapoto’s) I just cleaned the glass. The left side (Bakhuis) I rearranged and added some more plants as well as cleaning the glass.

IMG_1074

Tarapoto’s After:

IMG_1078

Bakhuis After:

Sorry about the foggy glass!

IMG_1179

I took out the large plant which was on the right hand side and filled it up with some newly cleaned & washed plants from my plant grow-out tank.

How often do you find you need to clean your tanks?

I am planning on a post later this week that will have frog photos!

thefrogladySubscribe by email for the latest updates or Join me on facebook and like “The Frog Lady” to get all the latest updates on your newsfeed.

Leave a Reply

