April A to Z Challenge – Letter H

Hygrolon

hygrolon_promo_1-folius
By Folius

Hygrolon was introduced in 2011, so it is still rather new.  While similar to Epiweb, Hygrolon is able to wick up water.  This makes it perfect for backgrounds!

Example 1

Newly planted tank by Dendroboard user Asunderco.

1 - before - asunderco
Dendroboard – Asunderco

Here is the same tank a year later.

1 - year later - asunderco
Dendroboard – Asunderco

Lots of little plants have grown in and covered the background so you can barely see the Hygrolon!

Here is a couple before and after of a 360 degree miniature orchid tank from Folius‘ website:

2-before
Folius – Flavs
2-before bottom
Folius – Flavs
2-before top
Folius – Flavs
2-after
Folius – Flavs
2-after back
Folius – Flavs

Have you ever used Hygrolon in your tanks before?  Did the plants love it?

thefroglady

Subscribe by email for the latest updates or Join me on facebook and like “The Frog Lady” to get all the latest updates on your newsfeed.

7 thoughts on “April A to Z Challenge – Letter H

  1. Is it like a humidifier / chia-pet log? It reminds me of those water plant I bought for my beta fish once. I don’t know what it was, but this plant absolutely loved being in that tank. After a year I couldn’t see my fish anymore. The fish liked it too, fortunately, but I had to ultimately cut it back before it was too over grown.

    1. It is actually just a fabric that you can place on the background and with a little substrate under it, it can retain moisture so plants love to be planted on it. I haven’t tried it yet, but hopefully soon! I have a bunch of plants in my tanks right now that are loving their spots wayyyy too much I will need to go through and cut them back pretty soon!

Leave a Reply

