Henry Vilas Zoo

I was going to post a reflections post yesterday on the A to Z blogging Challenge but I was actually boring myself.  So I am going to post something way more exciting!

Last weekend, my husband & I took a trip down to Madison for a bridal shower.  While there we stopped at the Henry Vilas Zoo!  If you have not heard of it, it is a zoo located in Madison, WI and it is completely free.  henry-vilas-zoo

I was very surprised with the quality of this free zoo and would definitely go back again when we have a little more time!  Here is a link to the map of the zoo: 2014_Zoo_Map

It was the perfect morning for the zoo so the tigers & lions were out and about.  Here are some photos that I took:

IMG_2019

Besides frogs, I also LOVE giraffes.

IMG_2023 IMG_2024

In most of the tanks, there was a variety of frogs & there were plenty for everyone to be able to see them.

IMG_2026 IMG_2031

Steve loved the bright red color of this one so maybe we can get some of these in the future 😉

Below are some photos of the overall tanks.  They were much larger tank sizes and better built than I was expecting.

IMG_2033 IMG_2034 IMG_2035 IMG_2037 The cane toad was looking at us like we were food.

IMG_2039

The alligators were out and really wanted their pictures taken.

IMG_2044 IMG_2045

IMG_2046If you are ever in Madison and looking for something to do, I would definitely recommend the Henry Vilas Zoo.

thefroglady

Subscribe by email for the latest updates or Join me on facebook and like “The Frog Lady” to get all the latest updates on your newsfeed.

8 thoughts on “Henry Vilas Zoo

    1. me too! It will be awhile until I am ready to take on some more frogs. Maybe after I sell a couple babies then I can justify it. I think I can find a new frog everyday that I would like to add!

    1. Yeah! I was pretty amazed that it was free! We will definitely have to stop back when we have more than an hour. I would love to spend some time just touring around the midwest going to zoos! That would be fun!

      1. That would be great to go back. I am going to make a point to check out zoos in the areas I visit! Seriously that must have been a wonderful treat! 😀

Leave a Reply

