Keeping Documentation & Records

COLLECTION 2016.jpgI think that keeping accurate records is a large part of being a responsible hobbyist.  I started my excel spreadsheet with all frogs last year.  I wanted to get this established prior to forgetting everything or adding to my collection and making it more complex.

I have added the following categories to my excel list:

-Morph

-Acquired From

-Date Acquired

-Age Acquired

-Species

– Line

-Qty / Proven/ Probable

-Price Paid/ Sold

 

Keeping accurate records serves many purposes, but I have started in order to:

  • know & be able to share the lineage of each group of frogs bought
  • know the age of each group of frogs at any given time
  • keep track of amount of froglets and compare to years past
  • notice any trends within my collection

 

Here is what my records look like.  I have whited out prices paid & last name of people bought from as I don’t feel that is necessary for this exercise.  Anyone who buys a frog from me will be given full access to this information so they can start/keep their own records.

IMG_5763

IMG_5759.JPG

What do your records look like?  I encourage each one of you to take a couple minutes to look through your records and see how much information you have at your fingertips.

 

Follow aapanaro on Instagram to get your daily dose of frog photos and a sneak peek into the frog lady’s frog room!  

thefroglady

Subscribe by email for the latest updates or Join me on facebook and like “The Frog Lady” to get all the latest updates on your newsfeed.

Leave a Reply

