Home-Made Media

Well all last week I procrastinated on making some new fly cultures due to having to wash old cups first.  Finally got to Friday afternoon and I needed to make cultures prior to a busy weekend.  I brought out the media and to my surprise it was literally almost gone.  I scrounged and was able to make 2 cultures when I normally have been making 6.

I had two choices at this point.  Try making my own media or buying new media with expedited shipping.  I have been thinking about trying my own media mix for months now but honestly never have actually done it.  I guess there is no time like the present to start making my own!

IMG_6488

 

After quickly stumbling upon many recipes I settled with:

-1 cup powdered potato flakes

-1/4 cup powdered sugar

-splash of vinegar

I then added water until it was a consistency that I liked & I then sprinkled active dry yeast & cinnamon on top  & mashed in excelsior.  This recipe was mainly decided upon because this one I had everything I needed at home and ready to go.

Left: HomeMade Media

Right: Saurian Media

 

IMG_6489

It looked good on the day I made it at least.  I will have to update with how it performs.  I have ordered some more Saurian mix and will start a new round of cultures tonight!

 

Do you have any home made fruit fly media recipes you like?

 

Like “The Frog Lady” on facebook or follow aapanaro on instagram to get some sneak peeks into the frog lady’s frog room!  

thefroglady

Subscribe by email for the latest updates or Join me on facebook and like “The Frog Lady” to get all the latest updates on your newsfeed.

3 thoughts on “Home-Made Media

  1. I also make 6 cultures every week. I experimented years ago, and this is what I came up with! Microwave 3-4 bananas, 2-3 minutes. Add about equal amount applesauce, and a splash of apple cider (or regular) vinegar. Add 2-3 T brewers yeast. Add oatmeal til you get the right consistency. Put into cups, put a pinch of cooking yeast in each cup. Add excelsior, etc (I use Easter grass), then flies.

Leave a Reply

