A to Z Theme Reveal

Well it is that time of the year already.  Just under 2 weeks and I will start my massive overload of posts.

 

About Me!

Thanks for stopping by!  I am Allyse AKA The Frog Lady. I currently own 4 different species of poison dart frogs for a total of 14 poison dart frogs, so now I have been starting to be called the Crazy Frog Lady instead.  You can find more information on the frogs I keep HERE.

 

A to Z in 2015

IMG_5205  Last year was my first time participating in the April A to Z challenge and my posts were on different types of backgrounds for tanks, terrariums or vivariums.  You can see them all HERE.  This was a great topic & it was awesome for all of my readers who have tanks, terrariums or vivariums, however all new people were excluded.  So this year I am happy to announce that my topic will be more including of all.

 

A to Z Challenge for 2016

This year I decided to take a different approach to the A to Z challenge.  The world is home to around 5,000 frog species with new species being discovered every month.  I am going to take the A to Z Challenge as an opportunity to highlight some of the awesome frogs around the world.  So my topic for the 2016 April A to Z Blogging Challenge will be….

 

Different types of frogs based on their Latin species name!

 

An example for Letter A – might be the Hyla Arborea – European Tree Frog

 

A_European_Tree_Frog_(Hyla_arborea)_at_night,_Romania_(4061029990).jpg

Photo from Commons Wikimedia

Did you know that the European Tree Frog is one of only two species of tree frogs to be found in Europe and they are the most widespread? (1)

or Letter A could be the Leptopelis Augbryi – Gaboon Forest Tree Frog

Leptopelis_aubryi_on_leaf.jpg

Photo from Commons Wikimedia

I will be featuring frogs that I think are cool or have something unusual about them.

Hope you all follow along by email or like The Frog Lady on facebook to follow the A-Z Challenge.  It will be a lot of fun and you might learn a thing or two about some awesome frogs!

Like “The Frog Lady” on facebook or follow aapanaro on instagram to get some sneak peeks into the frog lady’s frog room!  

thefroglady

Subscribe by email for the latest updates or Join me on facebook and like “The Frog Lady” to get all the latest updates on your newsfeed.

68 thoughts on “A to Z Theme Reveal

  1. this will be educational. I love hearing frogs but might be a bit freaked actually encountering one. They are pretty fascinating animals though. Have fun in April!

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

  2. Frog Lady, glad to find you by way of the A to Z Challenge. For the past few years my son & I have been volunteer surveyors in our local watershed to help monitor the frog & toad population. I’m very much a newbie (was never particularly into frogs before) but seeing American Toads moving en masse to their spring breeding grounds one April evening a few years ago was a special moment. I look forward to your posts!

    1. So glad you found me! I have looked at participating in the WI Frog & Toad study, but maybe next year because we are moving next weekend. Can’t wait to see your posts!

  3. What an interesting and educational theme. I’m from Europe and I’m familiar with the tree frog didn’t know there are so many species though. I like when I learn something new every day. All the best 🙂

    1. Thanks! And don’t worry they are more scared of us! Hopefully with all the pictures I am planning on posting in April it will help to see how harmless they are 🙂

  4. I love frogs. Mine are just coming out of hibernation – from inside the tomato plant pots (which I have learnt to leave over winter), underneath the trash cans (which sit on a bed of leaves). So, I’ll be back!
    Have fun 🙂
    Jemima Pett

  5. I had no idea there were that many frog species! This is a great, educational theme. It’s nice to meet another “Crazy” lady. Good luck with the challenge.

    1. Thanks for stopping by Tasha! I had a hard time narrowing it down to just 1 frog per day, but I think I managed. I was so excited I started pre-writing my posts! Can’t wait to read your posts either!

  6. Sounds like a fascinating theme! I love frogs and would love to learn more about your poison dart frogs. Will look forward to all you have to share about fabulous frogs!

    Michele at Angels Bark

  7. This is too cool! I love frogs, but know next to nothing about them. I didn’t even know tree frogs existed—until I came to Curaçao and happened to mention to someone, “Man, those crickets are loud!” (This someone is probably still laughing today, twelve years later.) Total frog ignorance notwithstanding, I’m an animal lover and I look forward to learning much over April 🙂
    Guilie @ Life In Dogs

    1. Haha I bet they are still laughing, although I am sure they get that a lot. I have some frogs that do sound like crickets so I know where you are coming from. I can’t wait to learn from you about rescuing dogs!

  8. J here, stopping by from the #atozchallenge – where I am also part of Arlee Bird’s A to Z Ambassador Team, just like you!
    Excellent choice for an A to Z challenge theme. Good job. My theme is the craft of fiction writing. Tips, lessons, and prompts from various writing reference books. I follow it up with a sample of my work.
    Your theme intrigues me because I love poison dart frogs. My assistant and her brother have an obsession with the blue ones (I don’t know why).
    April should be exciting. I’m looking forward to the event. Best of luck to us both on meeting our goals of posting and hopping to other blogs.
    My blog has a giveaway. There’s a bonus a to z challenge each day to encourage people to visit more stops.
    http://jlennidornerblog.what-are-they.com
    I’ve followed your listed social media.

Leave a Reply

