Orioles

I have always loved watching the birds.  Most days I think I am similar to a cat, watch birds, love naps in the sun.  I have had a bird feeder for quite awhile, but I wanted to see cool birds instead of the boring crows, morning doves & robins.  Like an Oriole for example.  Those are beautiful and awesome.  Here is an Oriole:

Baltimore_Oriole_s52-11-018_l_0
Audubon Guide to North American Birds
My parents have always had jelly and oranges out for the orioles and the birds love it!  So we finally went to Farm & Fleet and picked up an Oriole bird feeder similar to this one : 81oS+QjgIbL._SL1500_This one is pretty cool because it has a spot for 4 cups of jellies and can fit 2 halves of an orange on it as well.  It is made from recycled plastic so it should hold up pretty well to the elements! I posted a photo of the taste testing challenge on Instagram.  (Here’s the link to follow me on Instagram!) IMG_2175 So I filled up the cups with Two Apricot Jelly & Two Grape Jelly and the results are in! The Orioles prefer grape jelly, while the finches like the apricot.  I am not sure how we ended up with Apricot jelly in the house, but the birds finished it off for us! Here is a photo of our backyard with the two feeders. 

  
If you look closely near the left bird feeder are 2 orioles!  They love the grape jelly.  Sorry for the awful photo but it was taken from the house so I wouldn’t scare them. Do you have any Orioles hanging out by your house? Hope you have a great weekend! thefroglady

Subscribe by email for the latest updates or Join me on facebook and like “The Frog Lady” to get all the latest updates on your newsfeed.  Or follow me on Instagram.

3 thoughts on “Orioles

  1. I’m not sure if there are any Orioles in my yard, but I’m going to start looking for them! I also didn’t know they like jelly! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment